mcconalogue emff flags

Minister McConalogue has announced a further 33 grant awards by EMFF FLAGS with €47,000 going to fishery related projects

Minister Charlie McConalogue has announced a further 33 grant awards by EMFF Fisheries Local Action Groups.

The third tranche of grants awarded in 2020 is worth €558,039 which has been allocated to community groups and micro enterprises by five Fisheries Local Action Groups.

Out of the €558,039 awarded, just over €47,000 was allocated to projects that could benefit fishers or the fishing industry.

Those allocations are listed below:

Follow The Fishing Daily


Applicant Project Title Rate Total Cost Grant Aid


South FLAG

Bantry Inshore Search & Rescue Association CLG Equipment 80% 22,448.00 17,958.40


North FLAG

Donegal County Council Harbour Facilities 60% 26,400.00 15,840.00



J & S Ocean Products Upgrading Processing Equipment 80% 16,549.00 13,239.20


Announcing the third tranche of awards, Minister McConalogue said, “I am delighted to announce today a further 33 coastal projects to benefit from EMFF funding through the Fisheries Local Action Groups established as part of my Department’s EMFF Programme supporting the development of our seafood sector and coastal communities. These latest grant awards mean a total of €3.3 million FLAG funding has been awarded this year alone to 188 coastal projects.” 

Minister McConalogue added, “These projects will provide valuable economic and social benefits to our coastal communities during a difficult period for many. This is just one of the ways in which my Department’s EMFF Programme is making a positive difference to our coastal communities.”

Details of the FLAG scheme and how to apply can be found at

The EMFF Operational Programme was launched in January 2016.  The Programme provides €240m in funding to the seafood sector (fisheries, aquaculture and seafood processing) over the period 2014 to 2020. The Programme is co-funded by the Exchequer and the EU.

FLAG, Fisheries Local Area Action Group (2014 – 2020) is a coastal community development strategy with a fund of €12 million for 7 designated Irish coastal communities. The 7 FLAGs are South FLAG (Cork), Southwest (Kerry, Limerick), South East (Waterford, Wexford, Wicklow) West, (Galway, Clare), Northwest (Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim), North (Donegal), and North East (Dublin, Louth, Meath).

Bord Iascaigh Mhara (BIM), the Seafood Development Agency, assists FLAGs to deliver this scheme through administering supports via grant-aid, training and on the ground facilitation, with dedicated regional FLAG coordinators in each region.

Brian J McMullin Solicitors
MMG Welding Killybegs

Minister McConalogue announces third trance of EMFF for FLAGs

by editor time to read: 6 min