Members of the European Parliament voted to approve terms of the UK’s departure from the European Union, 621-49, with 13 abstentions. The UK will leave the EU on Friday, 31 January 2020.

Britain leave the EU institutions but will remain under most EU rules during a transition until the end of the year.

The Common Fisheries Policy (CFP) remains in place until the 31st December 2020 but today the Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs, Marine Management introduced a new Fisheries Bill to the House of Commons.

The Bill provides for the exclusion of all EU vessels from UK waters at the end of the ‘transition period’.

The EU has until the end of the year to negotiate a deal that would allow EU registered fishing boats to fish in UK waters.

Source: Twitter & BBC

EU Parliament votes overwhelmingly to approve Brexit

by editor time to read: 8 min